Volunteerism…

21861

Being a volunteer has its challenges. To step away from the crowd because of a deep yearning to help…or by default, as no one else stood up. Who knows? According to my wife, last week my son played on only every third or seemingly fourth shift. With enough players to field two equal lines, as a participation rule, everybody plays “equally”. As I was not there, I do not know the reasoning behind it.

Was he being punished for missing two previous games in the season? Was the game too close that a win was on the line, so the better players stayed on? Did he just overlook the man-child sitting there the legs crossed, eyes up waiting patiently to play? Who knows?

I do know that without coaches volunteering their time, leagues would never exist. I’ll see what happens this weekend. For come next January, I’ll be in the same position – volunteering!

One thought on “Volunteerism…

Tee up your comment here...

