April Fools…No Joke

Several years ago, on this day, I received an early morning phone call from my dad.  He was at the hospital with my mum…she’d had a heart attack.

A heart attack. On April 1st.
No joke.

A fight with breast cancer soon followed.

No joke.

Not long after, my mum’s brother had a massive heart attack, being revived multiple times.
No joke.

There was a time when I felt I was immune to these events.  These things always happened to someone else. You never expect anything bad to affect your family.  That April 1st everything changed, forever.

It’s been foolish of me to ignore my family history.
Taking care of yourself, knowing the risks and making life changes is imperative.
No joke.

Tee up your comment here...

